Newfoundland 3.3.1.1

The government of Newfoundland has a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly made up of 51 members elected for a term not to exceed five years. On July 4, 1974 the Honourable Gordon A. Winter became the Lieutenant Governor. The 37th Legislature in the history of Newfoundland and the ninth since Confederation, elected September 16, 1975, comprised 30 Progressive Conservatives, 16 Liberals, four members of the Liberal Reform party and one Independent Liberal.

The Premier receives a salary of \$21,280 and Cabinet Ministers \$13,440 per annum, plus a car allowance of \$3,000, sessional indemnity of \$8,960 and a travelling expense allowance of \$4,480. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$8,960 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$4,480. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional allowance of \$13,440.

The Executive Council of Newfoundland in January 1977

Premier, Hon. F.D. Moores

President of the Council, Hon. Dr. T.C.

Farrell

Minister of Justice and Minister responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. T.

Alex Hickman

Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury Board, Hon. C.W. Doody

Minister of Education, Hon, Wallace House

Minister of Transportation and Communications, Hon. James Morgan

Minister of Social Services, Hon. R.C. Brett Minister of Health and Minister of Rehabilitation and Recreation, Hon. Dr.

Harold Collins

Minister of Industrial Development and Rural Development, Hon. John Lundrigan

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. J.W. Dinn

Minister of Public Works and Services and Minister of Manpower and Industrial Relations, Hon. Joseph G. Rousseau

Minister of Consumer Affairs and Environment, Hon. A.J. Murphy

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Walter Carter Minister of Tourism, Hon. T.V. Hickey

Minister of Mines and Energy, Hon. A.B. Peckford

Minister of Forestry and Agriculture, Hon. Edward Maynard.

Prince Edward Island

The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Gordon L. Bennett was appointed Lieutenant Governor effective October 24, 1974. The Legislative Assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts who may serve for a statutory term not exceeding five years. Each district elects two representatives to the Legislature. The 53rd Assembly elected April 29, 1974 consisted of 26 Liberals and six Progressive Conservatives; as at October 1, 1976 party standings had changed to 23 Liberals and five Progressive Conservatives with four seats vacant.

A member of the Assembly receives \$7,000 per annum and an additional \$3,500 tax-free for travelling and other expenses incurred in attending sessions and representing his district. In addition the Premier receives a salary of \$24,000, a Cabinet Minister \$14,500 and a Minister without portfolio \$14,500. The Speaker of the Assembly is paid an additional indemnity of \$2,000 and his taxfree allowance is \$1,000; higher sessional indemnities and allowances are also available to the Deputy Speaker in the amounts of \$1,000 and \$500, respectively, and to the Leader of the Opposition in the amount of \$10,000. All indemnities and allowances accrue from the date of election to the legislature and are paid monthly. No sessional indemnity or expenses are paid for any special session of the Legislature.

The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island in January 1977

Premier, President of the Executive Council, Minister of Justice, Attorney and Advocate General, and Minister responsible for Cultural Affairs, Hon. Alexander B. Campbell

Minister of Development and Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. John H. Maloney

Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways, Hon. Bruce L. Stewart

3.3.1.2